You are currently viewing Explore More About Gluten Free Indian Food

Explore More About Gluten Free Indian Food

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Food / Gluten Free
  • Reading time:5 mins read

Is Indian Food Gluten Free?

Are you curious if Indian food is gluten free? If so, this post will answer all of your questions and more. You’ll learn about the different foods considered gluten free in India, and you’ll also read some helpful tips for navigating meals at restaurants that may or may not be safe for you.

Unfortunately, it is not possible to be completely gluten free in India. In restaurants and home cooking, there are many different types of flour that can be used to prepare everything from chapattis to naan bread. Due to these differences, it’s important for you and your family members who are on a gluten free diet to read the labels of all foods that you buy.

Indian food for gluten sensitivities

There are two main types of gluten free foods in India:

  1. Foods made with Mawa (, or gum arabic)
  2. Foods prepared with Nuwak (, or chickpea flour).

Mawa is a type of flour derived from sugar cane or sugar beets. It is used extensively in India to make a variety of desserts, and it is also used for chapattis, which are flat and circular Indian bread. Nuwak is flour made from chickpeas that can be cooked into various types of bread, such as chapattis.

Mawa and Nuwak do not provide you with all of the nutrients that wheat does, so it’s important that you include plenty of vegetables and fruits in your diet if you’re on any kind of gluten-free diet in India.

The most common places to find gluten free Indian food are at hotels or at restaurants that serve tourists.

Restaurants do not generally have a gluten free Indian food menu. You can ask for an Indian food gluten free meal at some of the hotels, but it is hard to get the correct dishes. 
However, there are many people who eat Indian food gluten-free and enjoy Indian food. Just be careful! Be sure to ask if you have any concerns about your food.

Safe Indian Gluten Free Food Ingredients For Gluten Sensitivities

Is Indian Food Gluten Free

There are many ingredients that are considered to be safe for people with gluten sensitivities. These foods include:

  • Beans, nuts, and potatoes contain a lot of fiber and protein that will replenish your body. 
  • You’ll also get lots of vitamins C, E, K, and B-complex from the vegetables you eat. 
  • Coconut milk is also an option for your diet as long as you make sure it doesn’t have any flour in it.

When eating out at restaurants, be sure to ask about the different types of flour that are used. If a restaurant does not know what gluten is or does not have anything on their menu that is free from wheat then you should probably eat somewhere else. Always make sure you’re getting real fruit juice and not just coloured sugar water!

There are many spices that are used in Indian food including cardamom, fennel seed, ginger powder, mustard seeds, pepper, and turmeric. These spices may help keep your blood pressure levels normal and even lower your risk of heart disease. Some spices are actually known to reduce inflammation, which is a symptom that some people experience when they’re on a gluten-free diet. Eating spicy food can also help you lose weight.

If you are going to eat Indian food that does contain gluten, it is important that you mix your foods up as much as possible so you don’t get an inflammation response.

The best way to do this is to take a small bite from one dish and then follow it up with something else. For example, if you take a bite of dal and rice, take a bite out of another rice dish and then finish off with some chapattis or samosas.

Leave a Reply